Belanger Park River Rouge
NFL DRAFT THONGS DOWNTOWN DETROIT »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Explain the Mike Duggan write in campaign for me.....please.

OK, as I understand it, in June, the Michigan Court of Appeals ruled that Mike Duggan did NOT meet the residency requirements to run for mayor of Detroit, correct? And Mr. Duggan has NOT appealed that decision, right?

So I guess my question is what happens if he wins as a write in candidate? I'm not a lawyer, and I haven't looked at the city charter.....as a city councilman in a small Northwestern town I've got my own city charter to worry about......but it seems to me that there could be a major conflict if he is elected mayor.

Does anyone know what the charter says about holding the actual position of Mayor as opposed to filing for election? Granted the EFM is operating as the government in power, but we had a situation similar to this in a city near me that tied city government in knots, created potential litigation problems, and helped make a general mess of government operations for the 6 months it took to settle the issue.

Quote Originally Posted by douglasm View Post
    OK, as I understand it, in June, the Michigan Court of Appeals ruled that Mike Duggan did NOT meet the residency requirements to run for mayor of Detroit, correct? And Mr. Duggan has NOT appealed that decision, right?

So I guess my question is what happens if he wins as a write in candidate? I'm not a lawyer, and I haven't looked at the city charter.....as a city councilman in a small Northwestern town I've got my own city charter to worry about......but it seems to me that there could be a major conflict if he is elected mayor.