Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default At What Price Would You Consider Putting Solar Panels or a Wind Turbine on Your Roof?

The Solar market and the Renewable Energy Market is booming in California, Arizona, Colorado, and Florida.

However, in Michigan, even with incentives and benefits, the market is stagnant.

So, I ask the question, at What cost would you consider putting Solar Panels for hot water heating, Solar PV for electricity or Wind Turbines on your property?

Good question! I work in the renewable energy industry and i would love to have solar panels on my roof or have wind turbine. But there are a few problems. I live in a condominium complex, so the roof above my head belongs to everyone in my multi unit building, not just me. I'm always hearing how prices for solar panels continue to drop and will soon reach parity with some fossil fuel produced electricity. If i owned my own single family detached home, i would probably opt for solar panels before wind. I think the payoff period is shorter for solar than wind. And i would drop anywhere from 2-7 thousand dollars and see what kind of a system i could get for that, probably gradually adding a panel or two every year or so.

Quote Originally Posted by Mind field View Post
    Good question! I work in the renewable energy industry and i would love to have solar panels on my roof or have wind turbine.
    Mind Field - I've been considering my options about entering this industry as a career. I really like where it is going. Any advice? Got a job?

Quote Originally Posted by TKshreve View Post
    Mind Field - I've been considering my options about entering this industry as a career. I really like where it is going. Any advice? Got a job?
    i sent you a PM

lilpup Guest

Hey, maybe we can't afford solar panels yet but plenty of folks have solar garden lights now!

Quote Originally Posted by Mind field View Post