Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

lilpup Guest

Default Reality tv shows

Some reality tv shows are utter crap but are there any you'd consider potentially beneficial and would welcome to the area?

I just read that LA schools wouldn't cooperate with "Food Revolution" - would a show like that have some use here?

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/lano...afeterias.html

I'm not a fan of reality shows either, although I enjoy watching Amazing Race. I didn't watch the first season of Food Revolution, but its premise got me curious so I've been watching it the past couple weeks. Obesity and health problems associated with poor nutrition are rampant in the US, so I applaud his efforts in trying to improve the food options offered in schools. That said, the occasional burger, pizza or other snack isn't going to hurt.

http://wwcsd.net/assets/pdfs/lunchme...l-april-11.pdf

Here's a current menu from my high school. I graduated in 2007 and it seems the lunch menu hasn't changed. They offered healthy options like salads, fruits, vegetables and sandwiches, but I can tell you most people always got the nachos, pizza, fried chicken, etc. These lunches were served with cartons of fries. I ate the school lunches, but I didn't overeat, would brown bag it some days and my Mom would make home-cooked meals at home. Although I'm young, I go for a check-up once a year. The doctor and blood test results say everything's good. I don't know what I would change in the schools, but moderation, portion control and making other good choices are key. I think totally banning pop amongst other extreme options is a bit much.

As a note - Whenever someone bought a pop in the lunch line, they were required to take a pretzel stick, although most people didn't eat theirs. I imagine a single stick doesn't cost much, but with hundreds of students buying pops over the course of a school year, that's a lot of wasted money!