Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Gardening thread.

I thought I'd try starting a thread dealing with all things gardening.
    I've had a veg garden for the last 15 years or so and learn new things from others every year so I thought it might be useful to have a thread to exchange ideas, tips, and even photos.

A question I have deals with planting potatoes. Last year I planned on planting some potatoes but had a really hard time finding a place to buy potato seeds suitable for planting. I asked around Eastern Market and local nurseries and really didn't come up with anything. Any ideas on where to buy them and tips on planting would be appreciated.

I thought you planted the potato eyes, not seeds. [[But I'm no expert.)

From Wikipedia's Potato article:
    In general, the potatoes themselves are grown from the eyes of another potato and not from seed. Home gardeners often plant a piece of potato with two or three eyes in a hill of mounded soil....
    Last edited by Jimaz; April-10-11 at 07:58 PM.

Where I live, the grocery stores have bins of seed potatoes and onion sets this time of year. You cut them into sections, each with an eye and plant them in loose soil. I've seen potatoes grown in very sandy soil that are huge. The less resistance the better. You can grow them in bins and I've seen them grown in stacks of old tires filled with a loamy type soil mix. I wouldn't want to do that in my backyard, but if I lived in the country and had a bunch of old tires I might try it.

I started about 170 different garden plants over the last two weekends and I'm going mostly with containers this year. I transfered some to a cold frame yesterday. I sure wish I had a small greenhouse.

My chive plant didn't come back this year. I had one years ago that always came back. The last few I've had haven't. Anyone know why?