Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Harvard student seeking help from Detroiters for research!

Hi everyone - I'm currently an urban design student at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. I am part of a group of 13 students researching the city of Detroit, and I was wondering if any of you would be willing to help with one request: I am trying to make a point of how badly tax revenue is lost by foreclosed properties and vacant lots in comparison to occupied properties that continue to pay their taxes to the city. Would anyone be willing to share with me their electricity, water, sewage, trash, and real estate property tax bill with me as an example of comparing costs? This is for educational purposes only and is in no way a means to disclose private information. I am merely only interested in the costs relative to the value of the property, as a means to prove a very significant point. If you would be willing to help, I would greatly appreciate it. My email is ctang@gsd.harvard.edu. Thank you in advance!

Are you discriminating tax-foreclosures and mortgage foreclosures? It appeared to me after I saw the treasurer's thousands of listings of tax-foreclosed properties this year that I must be one of only a few people in Detroit that pays taxes.
    You can make a point, certainly, that mortgage foreclosures are bad for a city, but just as bad is people not paying their property taxes - and that negative behavior is getting to be the norm here.

Caticang, welcome to the forum. I [[and others, probably) would be interested to learn more about your project. I actually live in Cambridge and am curious to hear about a Detroit oriented project going on. Are you by any chance working with Toni Griffin?

Quote Originally Posted by SWMAP View Post