Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Where to buy straw in city?

I'm an urban chicken farmer and I need some straw. Sometimes I can get it at Eastern Market, if not I go to the Baseline Feed Store in Warren. Does anyone know where in the city-proper I can get it without driving all over the place? Thanks. And my five laying hens will thank you too!

Retroit Guest

Have you thought about buying a scythe and harvesting your own from the many vacant fields in Detroit? It's really quite easy and fun.

Just don't ask me where to buy a scythe! Mine's at least 60 years old...but works quite well.

I am seriously urban , is straw different from Hay? I get bundles of hay from Cindy's Flowers in the market. They relocated recently but it might be a resource for you.

Straw is definitely different from hay. Hay is baled up fresh cut grass or clover that is allowed to dry slightly on the ground and then baled. Straw is the well dried stalks and sometimes even the heads of grain such as wheat and oats.

I got my straw in Eastern Market after all. The way hay vs. straw was explained to me --- hay if for horses, straw isn't ...

In the words of Fred Eaglesmith, shoulda never married a gal who didn't know hay from straw.