Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Thread: Your First Job

Default Your First Job

While having lunch this week at Vincente Cuban Cuisine which is located at 1250 Library I thought about my first job which was in that very building. Long before the restaurant opened it was The Good Housekeeping Shop which was an appliance store. In 1964 while a junior at Southeastern High School I was hired there as a file clerk making a whopping .75 per hour. I worked there after school from 4:30-8:30pm and all day on Saturday. When I graduated in 1966 I was hired full time and my salary soared up to $2.00 per hour. What and where was your first job?
    Last edited by EastsideQT; February-10-11 at 07:00 PM.

First job was working in 1966, working as an usherette at the brand new "Gateway Theatre" on Van Dyke in Sterling Heights. I worked there when it opened...as the largest single theatre in the state of Michigan with over 1400 seats. Started in summer between my junior and senior year in high school. Starting pay was $0.90/hour. After working for about a year, I made my way up to $1.25/hour.

It really was a good job. Boss was a great guy...retired Detroit policeman. Last name was Gosselin, I think. He was very protective of the staff and a great guy to work for. Worked there until I went away to college.

First job was working with my mom at a laundromat in a shopping center around 1963. I had access to the bosses office where the quarters were kept. One day I opened a different desk drawer and found his stash of Playboy magazines. As a 14 year old, I only read the articles. The 2 owners were really nice guys and treated us well. My first real job after graduation was at Scott Paper Company in Delray.