Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Michigan Central Depot Chandeliers

Hello,

I am a graduate student at Michigan State University and I'm looking for an artifact from Michigan Central Depot. Specifically, one of the chandeliers from the lobby. I am working with a University of Michigan graduate student and several Detroit artists to recreate replicas of this chandelier for a renovation project of the underpass adjacent to the station. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

p.s.

We will adhere to strict anonymity in terms of ownership. The chandelier will not need to be moved, we'll use a 3D scanner to create a CAD model of the artifact.

Please help us bring back a piece of history for everyone to enjoy.

Thanks,

Please contact me at: carolanp@msu.edu if you have any information.

If you want to find those priceless artifacts, the first place I'd look is Bloomfield Hills.

Rumor has it the owner prior to Matty Maroun has them in a warehouse somewhere in the city. Someone I trust tells me they saw them last year in ok shape.

The previous owner's name escapes me but he was the one who couldn't pay the security bills and let the depot fall into the shape its in now. Matty at least put a fence up, bricked off some doors, set up improvised fences inside to protect the perimeter, obviously not enough because its still only patching 4 out of 10 entrances to the building.

Quote Originally Posted by 100pol View Post
    Hello,

I am a graduate student at Michigan State University and I'm looking for an artifact from Michigan Central Depot. Specifically, one of the chandeliers from the lobby. I am working with a University of Michigan graduate student and several Detroit artists to recreate replicas of this chandelier for a renovation project of the underpass adjacent to the station. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

p.s.