Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Attending a Planning-Related Public Hearing

Hi,

I am Dave and I'm an undergrad student at WSU and as part of an assignment for a class, I must attend a planning-related public hearing [[and do a subsequent summary/analysis/critique paper). The meeting can be of planning commissions, zoning boards, zoning boards of appeal. Others may be accepted possibly, but those are the best candidates as said in syllabus. City council meetings are generally not planning-related, but there are times they are and it must be verified as an important component of the agenda.

I would prefer it be somewhere closer to where I live or reasonably close to Wayne State. I live downriver, in Riverview to be exact and commute/can drive.

I am coming here because I am having trouble finding any indication of the schedule for the city of Detroit's planning commission but also, would prefer to check out what's going on in this regard, in the city of Detroit. This isn't the first time finding something on the city website has proved difficult or is non-existent. I will cut the city some slack, but a proposal is due Tuesday and I probably wouldn't have much time to make communication through mediums like email/phone [[in-person may work) unless city buildings will be open Monday, unlike public schools [[which is is not the case apparently).

If anyone has any suggestions on or can provide information on:

A.) Detroit's city planning commission schedule [[and agenda if possible)

B.) Any recommendations for planning-related public hearings aside from Detroit

I'd love to read suggestions.

Thanks,
    Dave

Here's a thread about the City Charter Revision Commission. Meetings are coming up, in about 10 days and beyond...

http://www.detroityes.com/mb/showthr...sion-Phase-III

ptreo, Charter Revision Commission is not a Planning Commission or a ZBA.