Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default What service do you not get, or wish there more of in the city?

Just this morning I determined that in the next 12-24 months I will try to establish some kind of business in the city. It's most likely gonna be a general store but I'd like to get any input I can. List any product, service, hours of operation, that you can't reliably get in the city. And your general location would be great
    Please be as varied and detailed as you wish. Any and all feedback is appreciated

A cheap, close gym.
    Office and school supplies.
    Batteries/power strips/memory sticks.

I'm a civil engineering student UDM and I live in the same area.

snow plowing services. everywhere.

Where in the city are you planning to locate a business? That has a huge impact on just what products/services are under served in the area.

Do what you know. Sell that.

A dojo that teaches Judo would be awesome, though maybe I just haven't looked hard enough.

DetroitPole Guest

Along the lines of general store:
    I have two liquor stores near me. One is much like the rest of the liquor stores in the city. It is dirty, there is no semblance of healthy food there, and no concept of customer service. There are sometimes drug dealers outside. It is not unlike nearly every other liquor store in the city.
    Then there is one near me with a fresh deli counter, modest array of real groceries, and lo and behold, fresh produce.
    For the life of me I wish the liquor stores in the city could be more like the latter than the former - a neighborhood market, since they are often the only business in the neighborhood - rather than a parasite that exists only to profit off of booze.