Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default An Audience Opinion on the Development of Mass Transit

Currently, I am a civil engineering student at Michigan State University. I have grown up in and around Detroit so I hold the city close to my heart. In a professional writing course I am in right now, I am doing research in to the issues surrounding mass transit in Metro Detroit and Southeast Michigan.

If all of you could please present your views on the issues around it, it would be greatly appreciated. Personally, I believe that mass transit will save Detroit and allow the land use projects to kick in to high gear. The issue I see is extending the transit options in to the suburbs in the correct way. We as a city need to do this right before we have another people mover on our hands.

Give me your opinions. You will be helping my research so much and allow me to analyze opinions surrounding the issues and eventually be able to present this to a larger body.

You nailed my biggest concern: another people mover. Mass Transit could go a long way towards helping the city turn around. My concern is that, under the current plan, it wont. The point of transit needs to be getting people from where they currently are [[the suburbs, by and large) and into the entertainment and employment destinations in the city. One line that runs from 8 Mile to Hart Plaza, up and down Woodward, is less than useless.

I still haven't seen support for something that's region-wide and actually useful, so I don't have a lot of hope for transit in Metro Detroit.

I also am not hopeful about Mass Transit in the city and surrounding suburbs. I live in St. Clair Shores and work in Melvindale. My commute is torture.
    I just can't see how any type of light rail or bus is going to cover all the various trips that people have to make in the Metropolitan Detroit area.

Quote Originally Posted by ordinary View Post