Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Blarf Guest

I don't get it. I can go on Flickr and in 3 seconds find someone who takes better pictures than that guy. Did Time actually PAY for those photos?

I never understood the point of tilt-shift photography. To me, it always looks more like tilt-s**t photography, but hey, I'm no expert.

Amazing, someone found a way to sell blurry photos! Marketing coup!

Wow....that's probably the worst professional photography I've ever seen. And it's rather pointless, at best.

i think it looks amazing

I so do not get those photos.

So now Detroit is smaller because of 10 slightly blurry photos?

I'm rapidly coming to the conclusion that the only reason TIME exists is to make every other media outlet look better by comparison.

Ok this is the first I've heard of this type of photography so I didn't get it by looking at the Time piece either. I tried googling the term though and found this:

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2008...t-photography/

Now these pictures are really neat. They make the Time photos just look like bad photography/

Quote Originally Posted by gencinjay View Post
    Ok this is the first I've heard of this type of photography so I didn't get it by looking at the Time piece either. I tried googling the term though and found this:

Now these pictures are really neat. They make the Time photos just look like bad photography/
    After looking at those examples, then taking another look at the Detroit photos by TIME, I can see what the photographer was trying to do, but he/she just isn't very good at it. The good examples make things look like a clay model world or the Neighborhood of Make-Believe from Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood.

Stosh Guest

Quote Originally Posted by gencinjay View Post

I agree completely. The method used doesn't really translate when your perspective is below the focus subject. The above referenced pics are great, I particularily like this one.