Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default New Book by Former Health Insurance Executive Tells of Industry Deception, Propaganda

A new book entitled Deadly Spin hits the shelves today; it is an insider's look at the healthcare industry. The book is written by the former Chief Corporate Spokesperson of CIGNA, and starts as follows:

"My name is Wendell Potter, and for twenty years, I worked as a senior executive at
    health insurance companies, and I saw how they confuse their customers and
    dump the sick -- all so they can satisfy their Wall Street investors."

In an article on HuffingtonPost.com, the author writes how the book describes the following:
    • That the health insurance industry played a central role "in the fear-mongering and anger-mongering campaign against the Democrats' original vision of reform, which included a "public option" that would have competed against private insurance companies and which President Obama said early in the debate was necessary to "keep insurers honest." "

"Insurers were able to kill the public option and weaken the reform bill, but it couldn't kill it. Despite conventional wisdom, insurers didn't want to kill it because the requirement that all Americans buy private coverage if they're not eligible for a public program like Medicare and Medicaid will ensure their profitability for years to come."

"They do, however, want to weaken the bill further, which is why the industry funneled millions of policyholders' premiums this year into the campaigns of Republican candidates and round-the-clock advertising based on lies about the new reform law."
    • "the meticulously planned and deception-based strategy the health insurance industry developed and carried out -- with help from one of Washington's biggest PR firms -- to discredit documentary maker Michael Moore and his 2007 movie, Sicko"