Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Character Search for Documentary

Hello everyone,

my name is Sabrina Wulff. I'm a 2009 graduate of the Munich Filmschool in Germany. Right now I'm preparing my debut feature film in Detroit which I will start shooting in January of next year.

Based on five individual fates of two generations of ‘middle class’ workers in the struggling car industry our feature length documentary wanders with them through an American metropolis of which many believed would shine forever: Detroit – their hometown, that brought itself and its country wealth and power but now seems to fail like the old boomtowns of the gold and silver rushes did, as though it had been mining automobiles and the veins ran dry. The repercussions on the families seem oppressive. Their once relatively unworried ‘middle-class’ life seems to be shaken to its very foundations, nowadays often ruled by existential fear. What happens within humans who are about to lose their dream for which they kept working hard as upstanding and proud citizens all their lives? What happens within families with their various generations if something that structured their life, their rhythm, that gave them social recognition is about to break away?