Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Best Single Serve Coffee Maker

Anyone have any recommendations on single serve coffee makers? I've been using the Black and Decker Brew N Go for a few years, but think I am ready for an upgrade to a pod brewing system. I've checked a lot of reviews, but none of them seem consistent. I usually have one or two solid cups of joe in the morning, but nothing later in the day. I am hoping to get something as close to the coffee shop as possible without actually going to the coffee shop. I am also the only one in my household who drinks coffee. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Bearinabox Guest

The pods are a total waste of resources and money.

You will grow tired of any and all of them...after realizing you are a slave to their choices of vendors.

NOTHING replaces fresh-ground coffee. Only thing I'll use for small servings is a French Press. Boil water, and three minutes later you've got amazing coffee...and grounds to locally recycle in your or a neighbor's garden.

And no plastic garbage to continue filling our landfill MOUNTAINS.

Just my two cents. On the week I'm fasting off coffee. Ouch.

Cheers

Check out this site, lots of good info and reviews:

www.wholelattelove.com

If you really want to avoid the handling of grounds, there is an amazing coffee/espresso maker a friend owns from Jura. But even that has an automatic maintenance schedule that Murphy causes to occur when you can least handle it, like when you are rushing out late for something.

http://www.capresso.com/prod_super.html

We were recently gifted a Keurig coffee maker. It uses "K-cups" which I assume is equivalent to what you mean by pods. I have to agree with everything Gannon had to say about it.