Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Thread: 16MM Film

Default 16MM Film

Sorry if this is too off topic, but this weekend I bought a Singer Graflex 16MM film projector at a garage sale [[in Detroit! There, on topic!) and was wondering if anyone had any experience getting something like that to run. Also, any places in the city that have any 16MM films for sale?

I've been collecting 16mm for over 35 years. I'm pretty sure that all of the local libraries that lent out film have sold or dumped their collections. eBay is probably the best place to buy films.

Quote Originally Posted by Ed Golick View Post
    I've been collecting 16mm for over 35 years. I'm pretty sure that all of the local libraries that lent out film have sold or dumped their collections. eBay is probably the best place to buy films.
    Do you know anyone that could possibly fix this thing? It's not even turning on...

By not turning on, do you mean completely dead? Email me detroittvguy@ hotmail.co m. [[remove the space between the o and m.

Hey there Ed ! : >)

6. Default

I could look at it if you'd like--not saying I'd know, but I used to own a 16mm projector and curate a series. Maybe I could figure something out.

Ebay is probably the best, or small libraries deaccessioning.

I found this on Google: http://www.detroitfilm.org/index.html
    ...maybe they'd have a lead for you on various 16mm questions?

Lastly, if you want, I can bring you some of my old films next time I drive back to my hometown. You can have it. The friend I gave my collection to never finished picking it up. I wanted to bring it with me to Detroit, but moving those films was as arduous as moving everything else I own put together.

Yay 16s, and yay for you for picking up this vanishing technology!

Quote Originally Posted by claireianthelibrarian View Post