Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Rochester College inquiry

who is familar with this school-- either attended, graduated, knowing people who have.. what is your take on this school? In particular, is it accommodating to adult, working students re-entering college?

I attended RC through Macomb Community College's University Center. I transferred from WSU for undergrad and the difference between the schools, at least for undergrad, was like night and day. RC professors were so much more demanding…almost Quaker-like with their demand for hard-work and dedication. Keep in mind that it is a “Christian” school and some teachers will start class with a prayer but they don’t try to indoctrinate you. I didn’t attend for the churchy stuff….I wanted to finish the program in a certain amount of time and WSU couldn’t offer that option.

I got my associate's degree from what was then Michigan Christian College in 1996. The school changed its name to Rochester College in 1997 to broaden its marketing appeal [[especially to adult / nontraditional students). I was on staff from 2001 to 2004.

Since people like history trivia on this forum:

• Original name of the college of North Central Christian Junior College [[1959 - 1960)
    • Board that formed to establish the school held its original meetings at the YMCA on West Grand Boulevard in Detroit.
    • Fundraising rallies to establish the school took place at Ford Auditorium from 1956 to 1960.
    • Campus in Rochester was the country "cottage" estate of Grosse Pointe advertising bigshot Lou Maxon.
    • Pat Boone was a major fundraiser for the school in the late 1950s and early 1960s.
    • The school was the second Church of Christ affiliated school in America [[first was Pepperdine) to enroll African Americans [[1959).