Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Matty Moroun's company to build 'Bridge-on-Demand' floating bridge

"The Bridge-on-Demand system is the ultimate solution to providing redundancy in the face of a crisis," said Dan Stamper, DIBC president. "Its mobility will allow for secure land-based storage, where the Bridge-on-Demand system can be called upon for deployment across the Detroit River, or anywhere else across the nation in very short order."
    http://www.freep.com/article/2010072...loating-bridge

WTF? I'm sure it will be stored in Riverside Park.

I would think that the river is too wide and the current is too fast for this type of bridge, but I'm not an engineer.

Bill Shreck, director of communications for MDOT, was unimpressed by plans for a floating bridge.
    "They bring it up periodically but never produce it," Shreck said.
    I'm sure the Mrooun "floated" this out there to quiet the "redundancy" crowd.

http://detroitnews.com/article/20100...ergency-bridge
    Last edited by leland_palmer; July-28-10 at 06:16 PM.

Stosh Guest

Wow. I'm just amazed. Does that mean that the approach he built was planned for this system all along? I'd sooner trust a catapult on demand system.

burn some cash!

Quote Originally Posted by Stosh View Post
    Wow. I'm just amazed. Does that mean that the approach he built was planned for this system all along? I'd sooner trust a catapult on demand system.

Catapult, eh? I like that idea much better... with a catapult, we on the Canadian side, could toss a whole lotta crap over to you guys on the American side. Do you guys need any politicians? We have a lot here that could fit in a catapult...easily!

Stosh Guest

Quote Originally Posted by marcwigle View Post