Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Default Ford Hiring Based On Race

Hi All,

First off, I would like to introduce myself since this is my first post. I'm a small business owner living in Westland and I have a sincere passion for the City of the Detroit. I wasn't born here [[Louisiana Native) but the majority of my family is here and I also attended the University of Detroit Mercy where I recieved my Bachelors of Science in Computer and Information Systems.Now about Ford-- I will start from the beginning [[bare with me, I can be long winded).

I am very very upset with Ford. My mother is currently employed at the company, however this post is not only about her employment with them but also the fact that they are hiring based on race. Several weeks ago I purchased a car off of Craigslist. When I went to pick up the car from the seller, me, Him [[a white man in Macomb county), and my mother were having a discussion about the job market in Michigan. My mother is a member of the UAW and IBEW. She was wearing her IBEW jacket.

When the guy who sold me the car saw her jacket he begin asking her about IBEW and she told him that she is still a member but currently working for Ford. They started talking about Ford plants that were hiring in the last 60 days.
    The guy who was selling me the car told us both that the Ford plants he went too to apply for work, SPECIFICALLY told him they were only hiring "30 white guys and 15 black guys". Now the reason that this pisses me off so much is this:

1.) Why are they hiring based on race?
    2.) The majority of the men showing up for the jobs were BLACK. There were more BLACK men there than white. The guy who told us this story actually confirmed that there were twice as many black men there to apply for work.