Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default I worked at Fisher 21

Did anyone on here work at Fisher Body? What was it like?

I worked there for six months during late 1978 and early 1979. In 1978, I was a young manufacturing engineer in the Production Engineering Activity at the Fisher Body General Offices in Warren, MI. At the time, GM was bringing both the "X" and "E" bodies into production and I was temporarily transferred to assist in the pilot production of those bodies, which were built at FB Plant 21. When Plant 21 was not building pilot bodies, they were normally producing Cadillac Limousines.

My assignment was to serve as one of three "rework coordinators", which meant it was up to us to provide templates and otherwise assist in the incorporation of late engineering changes into the pilot parts on hand as well as the tooling if it was affected by the change. Back then, the product engineers treated the pilot builds as if they were still prototype builds, meaning they were making continuous changes to the product even as the production process and tooling were supposedly being validated. The rework coordinator's job was to figure out on-the-fly how to coordinate and incorporate those changes without compromising the production-intent build process.

We worked out of a [[3rd ? floor) office on the east side of the building, with a nice view of the I-75 expressway. I was impressed by the skills of the body shop employees, particularly the guys in the solder booths and on the repair lines. They could fill in those body panel joints and grind them flush so it looked like a single panel, regardless of how far off the metal was from spec. The ding men on the body-in-white repair line could quickly and skillfully bump out any kind of dent using just a handful of tools and a couple of different kinds of mallets.

littlebuddy Guest