Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default I worked at a Detroit Car dealership

If you work [[or used to work) at a car dealer in Detroit, tell us about what it was like. What changes did you see over the years?

I was a 19 year old salesman at Riverview Dodge [[Grosse Pte.) in 1984. You couldn't give a Dodge away in 1984. Competition among salesmen was quietly fierce. If you weren't sharp another guy would "skate" you & steal your "up".

Have been in car dealerships since 1970. Worked in the city from 71-72 at Packer Pontiac on Livernois.

Changes? Lots. How about what does not change? The hours. Long. Benefits, not bad except no pension except for 401K if offered and insurance until you retire and take Social Security, then it's Medicare, nothing in between.

Not crying, it was my choice, but if I had it to do all over again, I would have taken the job[[s) at Michigan Bell, Ford [[UAW), Consumers Power or the LEO job that I turned down.

There used to be ALOT of new car dealers in Detroit area.
    They really didn't take away the local trade from each other.

Biggest change, and a huge loss for Detroit was in the 70's when the new car destination charge was 'evened out' all over the country.
    Up until then people flew in from all over the country to buy their new cars in Detroit, since the destination fee was minimal. Many dealers ran a shuttle to the airport and train station. The savings weren't real huge, but alot of buyers are proud to tell their friends they saved maybe $100.[[after their own transportation charges)
    Alas, then the Big 3 discovered THEY could save $$$ by assembling the cars in other parts of the country, since they no longer received the destination charge on the distance from assembly.

Quote Originally Posted by shovelhead View Post
    Have been in car dealerships since 1970. Worked in the city from 71-72 at Packer Pontiac on Livernois.