Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Construction on Woodward, Light Rail?

As a New Center resident, I've noticed quite a bit of construction on Woodward. It starts near Grand Blvd and stretches beyond the Boston-Edison district. The road has been barreled off for a week or two. I've noticed they milled the asphalt that is southbound. Any idea what it is? Just regular road maintenance? Or is it preparation for the proposed light rail?

-Tahleel

It's the second approach for Matty Moroun's new bridge.

No at that point of the route it would be center aligned....

The project on Woodward is a heavy rehab with some reconstruction to prepare the roadbed for rail lines. There is also a stretch from I-94 to Euclid where there will be additional streetscape amenities for the pedestrians and passengers.

So my question is this....since at least Woodward once had street cars going down the middle in that area like they are planning to do again, shouldnt the road bed already be ready? I mean its not like they broke it up to resurfce it.

Quote Originally Posted by Detroit Stylin View Post
    So my question is this....since at least Woodward once had street cars going down the middle in that area like they are planning to do again, shouldnt the road bed already be ready? I mean its not like they broke it up to resurfce it.
    Theoretically yes, but every time they have ripped up parts for undergroud repairs, it can be assumed that this roadbed was not restored. Also the great wizards at M1 Inc do not prefer to operate this line as a regional LRT in the middle of the street but as a local circulator/people mover/fancy bus one lane from the curb, where no previous roadbed ever existed[[for good reason too!)

Quote Originally Posted by Russix View Post