Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Jefferson-Chalmers

Anyone out there grow up in the Jeff-Chalmers era-60' and 70's????

I grew up on Newport between Jefferson and Kercheval, and lived there from 1951-1971. I graduated from St. Ambrose, Class of 1969.

I lived on Marlbourgh in 1976 and then subsequently lived at times on Ashland [[2 homes), Alter, Eastlawn and Manisitque. I also spent time on Lakewood, but up by Harper. All is all, 11 years in Jefferson/Chalmers. I only moved to purchace a house over by Balduck as I loved living there. Concerts at Lakewood Park, walking to so many friends houses to hang and jam, Lenox Fields [[as we called it), Krishna Mansion. We had a ball. That is where the Sun Messengers started.

I should also mention that I am involved with Jazzin on Jefferson put on by JEBA every year [[June 17) and also events put on by the Creekside Organization to this day as my old neighborhood still means a lot to me.

My grandfather and dad owned the Grosse Pointe Beer Store between Alter and Wayburn. Spent lots of time there as a kid.

Lorax Guest