Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Position wanted: A chance to improve city

A article from Free Press Rochelle Riley,
    http://www.freep.com/article/20090419/COL10/904190463

Position wanted: A chance to improve city

BY ROCHELLE RILEY
    FREE PRESS COLUMNIST
    I had just finished taping a C-SPAN special at Harvard when a young man walked up to shake my hand.
    "Hi, Miss Riley," he said. "I'm Bryan Barnhill. I'm a freshman here. I told you I'd get here."
    I nearly cried.
    That encounter happened four years ago, and Bryan was among the high school student leaders I had chosen the previous spring for a panel discussion on the Detroit Public Schools. He'd said then that he would get to Harvard. And I wasn't surprised.
    Bryan was part of a cadre of hard-working leaders from high schools across Michigan who had excelled in spite of obstacles. I remember them talking about not having the lab equipment that most suburban kids had and not having the same curriculum in some of their schools. But they also talked about their hopes and dreams and goals in ways that stayed with me.
    Today, Bryan Barnhill, 22, is back home in Detroit with a Harvard degree in government and a passion for urban development. He eschewed other opportunities to come home and help his city. But he can't find a job.
    "It would be a very sad sign if I, and people like me, were not able to secure employment in Detroit," said Bryan, who even met once with Gov. Jennifer Granholm about her cool cities initiative to lure college graduates back to Detroit.
    His situation today perfectly illustrates one of the city's greatest challenges: How can Detroit replenish its aging population with vibrant, young college-educated workers if there is no work for them? How can Detroit retain its best young minds if the city's economy can't support them?
    Rising above surroundings