Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Packard Plant No. 10 Question

Hello all -

So, I am a graduate student at the University of Oregon, and am writing a paper about the "Kahn Trussed Bar System" used in the Packard Plant No. 10 building for my Historic Preservation class.

This might seem like a silly question, but is the actual Building No.10 still standing, or has it been demolished? Any help [[and photos!) would be appreciated.

I was in the Packard today showing someone around. The one thing that seems to be in every Kahn building is his vertical concrete supports. In the Packard they are about 2.5' in diameter at the base but cone outward at the ceiling. Im sure this is not what your talking about but it amazed me that the top two floors of one of the buildings has collapsed. Its quite a sight. You can see it in the background of the pic I took. There was no demo done as far as I know, thats all nature.

Im pretty sure the truss system your referring to was used on a walkway that spanned between the two main buildings. It didnt come down until two scrappers basically cut the diagonal I beams that were supporting them. Almost the entire walkway came crashing down with them in it. They were hella lucky and walked away. I do know the diagonal beams they cut were some of the biggest Ive seen cause I was eyein them. They must have been 15"X15" and 1" thick at the thinnest.

Im not sure which is building #10 but someone here is sure to let you know. You might want to try www.detroiturbanexploration.com
    Last edited by Django; May-03-10 at 03:39 AM.

K,

I believe a similar system was used by Kahn at Russell Industrial Center, our walk way between building 1 and 4. We actually have tenants in spaces on those walkways, as we had enough space to make a hallway and wall off areas. Also the bridge between building 1 and 2 currently occupy tenants as well.

Let me know if you need some help.