Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Border Crossing?

Sorry if this has been previously discussed. I couldn't find the topic in past forums.

I am considering a relocation to Windsor and would like to hear from people who have experience crossing the border on a regular basis - for example, a daily commute.

I have a lot of experience crossing at Buffalo and at Blaine, WA. I know that there can be challenges. I've also lived in Detroit before and remember frequent delays at both the tunnel and the bridge. Has this improved? Does Nexus make a difference? Is it practical to think that I might cross daily for work? Are there better hours for crossing?

I would love to hear first-hand anecdotes if possible. But, any insights will be appreciated.

My cousin is a guard at the bridge and he says he spends the first 3 hours of his day allowing Canadians in who work here. When they ask you a question just tell the truth, they already know the answer to the question. You shouldn't have any problems.

I was really wondering about the delays. Is it possible to get across the border during rush hour in 10-20 minutes? Or, are we talking about 45 minute delays?

I've heard a number of stories about people who cross daily, but I don't know if they are true. Experience taught me that Buffalo is easily crossable most any time of day. Blaine, WA is a bitch most of the time [[very long and frequent delays).

It seems to me that Detroit will be a major problem. I would think that the population of the region, the major interstate highway, the amount of cross-border commerce, etc., coupled with the fact that there are only two crossing, would all make the Detroit-Windsor crossings nightmarish.

I work with someone, she and her husband both cross daily. She says it's a breeze with Nexus. I haven't heard they had any problems.

Buy American Guest

Quote Originally Posted by pontiac4ever View Post