Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Blueprint America: Beyond the Motor City. PBS special

February 8th at 10pm on PBS is a show on how Detroit may come to represent the future of transportation and progress in America. At the link below is a trailer.

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/blueprintame...o-preview/861/

I just took a look at the trailer, and am looking forward to watching the video. As an inner-city resident, I'm divided on whether I should continue to stay until the city, as well as the nation can finally decide to move transportation to the 21st century as other nations have already done.

However, given the trouble that the city is in, I maybe end up too old by the time Detroit wises up.

So I'm giving some thought on whether to stay and continue advocating or leaving for areas more friendly to bicyclists and those that use public transportation.

Looks great, thanks for the link.

I look forward to living in a transit oriented Detroit. Hopefully this sort of exposure forces the issue.

It looks as if it will be interesting. There's a quote from the trailer, "When we talk about rebuilding America, that has to start here in Detroit." I would have to ask, "Why?"

Lorax Guest

I would say to correct a wrong that has been forced on Detroit by politics and big business for more than half a century.

GM was instrumental in killing the streetcar system in Detroit as well as most other cities that had them, since they wanted more people to drive and ride the bus.

Now with GM bankrupt and it's influence waning as a corporation, Detroit makes perfect sense as the first place for not only a resurrected streetcar system, but high speed rail hub as well.

Return streetcars to all major arteries in Detroit and I guarantee there will be significant development along these arteries.

Quote Originally Posted by Lorax View Post