Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default James Duffy Legendary Detroit Art Collector passes

James Duffy was a remarkable character in the Detroit art scene of the 70's and 80's whose patronage was a big factor in the emergence of the Cass Corridor art scene. He spent his money on Detroit artists and by his collection, influence and connections did much to make it prominent and validated.

The attached DIA Press Release / obit will provide many of the activities of this remarkable man.
    Attachment 3756

I know I had met him but cant place his face. I certainly didnt know THAT^ much about him, wish I had.

Ravine Guest

My father, for quite a few years, was Mr. Duffy's Office Manager, and held his boss in high esteem.
    He was a very generous man. The "Christmas Bonus" he gave my father, about forty years ago, would be a helluva nice one even in today's dollars.
    I still have the gift he sent to me when I graduated from high school.
    Don't believe me? The phone number to the place was VInewood 1-8600.

Thanks for posting and including the obit. It filled in some blanks for me. I'd heard interesting stories of him and the warehouse filled with art and of his driving around in a Rolls, or somesuchthing. Very interesting person, and generous.

As an aside, there's a documentary film about Wagstaff that I saw late at night [[fuzzy) that covers his colorful life including his curatorship in Detroit.

Quote Originally Posted by Ravine View Post
    My father, for quite a few years, was Mr. Duffy's Office Manager, and held his boss in high esteem.
    He was a very generous man. The "Christmas Bonus" he gave my father, about forty years ago, would be a helluva nice one even in today's dollars.
    I still have the gift he sent to me when I graduated from high school.
    Don't believe me? The phone number to the place was VInewood 1-8600.