Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Detroiters, Vote for Alberta Tinsley-Talabi

DISCLAIMER: More than a decade ago I was a legislative analyst for Alberta Tinsley-Talabi. She has consistently been respectful to both citizens and non-citizens, business owners, etc who have come before Council. And, she has aIways carefully deliberated on legislative decisions without being confrontational.

Please remember Alberta Tinsley-Talabi today when you go to the polls. She is a level-headed and accomplished incumbent that we should consider. She has been a legislative leader on the City Council for the past 16 years and a community leader and servant since she was a teenager. Voting for Alberta is voting for someone we already know gets the job done. There are some who think that we should throw out all of the old and start new, but certainly in our own experiences in any organizations, we all know firsthand that a healthy and committed mix of both old and new makes for a vibrant and progressive, yet stable and informed organization.

A Brief List of Councilmember Tinsley-Talabi' s Recent Legislative Accomplishments includes:
    • Created the Show Cause Hearings Division dedicated to closing party stores, bars, adult businesses and other businesses not adhering to city ordinances
    • Created the Office of Targeted Business Development designed to increase city procurement with small businesses as a way to create more jobs in the city
    • As a member of the Police & Fire Pension Board, created a Detroit investment fund investing tens of millions of dollars in the City of Detroit creating new jobs
    • Successfully lobbied her colleagues for increasing funds for recreational activities and after school programs
    • Successfully lobbied her colleagues for increasing funds for summer youth employment