Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Detroit bus system major impediment to students graduating from high school

http://michigancitizen.com/print_thi...6&sdetail=7950

As a Cass Tech graduate, I can sympathize with the frustration of trying to get to school on time with the lateness of these buses.

I would like to offer an alternative:

Many schools are within biking distance of residences. Those that are currently dependent on the bus to get to class, should instead, ride their bikes to school. Also, the schools should have bike racks available, as is already made available at the Detroit Public Libraries.
    Last edited by Tig3rzhark; November-03-09 at 09:58 AM. Reason: link editing

lilpup Guest

What is the longest distance a high school student has to travel to get to their local school?

interesting.. with the latest closings & consolidations, that will again re-arrange the distance various students travel..

and with the issue of bike-riding, Detroit needs to have more bike paths throughout the city.. I suspect that many in the city neighborhoods and city gov't don't even think about this, it's looked as an issue for "white hipsters"..

I'm sure biking would work for some [[I know I did it as a kid), but there are lots of "what ifs": What if the kid doesn't have a bike? What if he/she is disabled or otherwise unable to ride? What about those 10-below-zero days? What about dangerous characters lurking along the way? What if the kid needs to carry a tuba? It's a great idea, but not one the schools can rely on.
    I can't load the story to read it, but can someone answer this: I know I've seen lots of Detroit Public Schools buses out and about. Does the school district provide any transportation for students? Or are they on their own?