Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Detroit smaller than Jacksonville, Fl?

I was researching the inconsistencies of the population counts on wikipedia when I came across this site that claims Jacksonville, Fl has surpassed Detroit in population as of 2009. That should be a bit startling, if true...

http://www.world-gazetteer.com/wg.ph...c&va=&srt=pnan

Jacksonville is a consolidated city-county government so a more accurate comparison would be Detroit and Wayne County's population, not city to city.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacksonville,_Florida

I graduated high school many moons ago in Jacksonville.

No comparison of the two cities and counties. I'm not a native of either place, but I'll take Detroit.

Jacksonville originally was much smaller than Detroit. But they decided to join the governments together and now all of Duval county is City of Jacksonville

In terms of area, Jacksonville is the second-largest city in the U.S. [[after Anchorage), at 600+ square miles. Driving in from the north on I-95, one reaches the Jacksonville City Limits in a rural area 30 miles or so from downtown.

Population is just numbers. It doesn't mean a whole lot without any context. No need to panic.

Quote Originally Posted by Novine View Post
    Jacksonville is a consolidated city-county government so a more accurate comparison would be Detroit and Wayne County's population, not city to city.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacksonville,_Florida
    It would be more accurate if Wayne County was one municipality. As it stands now, it isn't so it wouldn't be an accurate comparison. Many cities have been gobbling up land and incorporating existing areas.

Quote Originally Posted by ghettopalmetto View Post