Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default The Second Amendment

I know this is a sensitive and even volatile subject for many people, and I have given this some serious thought before posting. Let me state up front that I bear no ill will against either pro or anti-gun people. I own a hunting rifle but haven’t hunted in years. It is not my desire to come down on either side of the gun ownership argument. The regulation of firearm ownership just isn’t an issue for me. I’m not a lawyer, my ox isn’t being gored, and I don’t have an ax to grind. But I do hope there is impetus for intelligent discussion.

The problem I have is that pro-gun people argue that the Second Amendment of the U.S. Constitution guarantees that they may own any type of firearm they desire and that neither the federal nor State governments may infringe upon their “right to bear arms.” I’ve also heard that the Supreme Court will be taking up some cases which involve the Second Amendment.

The whole of the Second Amendment reads as follows: “A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.”

To make sense, several words or a phrase should not be lifted out of context to try to make a convincing argument, but the whole statement should be made to speak for itself. For example, the words engraved on the headquarters building of the NRA, I’m told, reads, ”the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.” It seems to me that this phrase has been lifted out of its context.

The first phrase, “A well regulated militia,” sets the stage. From this, I gather that this is what the amendment is really all about.