Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Council tries to stop council by districts

Gee I wonder why.....

Shocking, truly...

Doesn't every member other than KC live within 3 blocks of one another in Rosedale Park? I remember reading this somewhere...

Quote Originally Posted by Detroit Stylin View Post
    Gee I wonder why.....
    There's no need to wonder. The reason is in the article. The law department and RAD found the language "fatally flawed."

Page 2 of this document shows where the 2009 council candidates live. I believe the orange people are the incumbents [[though I see only 5. Didn't 6 run?)
    http://www.crainsdetroit.com/assets/PDF/CD66250724.PDF

One more reason I'm thankful I'm a Detroit resident for only 11 more days!

Why do people try this stuff without getting legal review?

From 3-6 tomorrow afternoon there will be a panel discussion at Wayne State on the pros/cons of the current system and it's possible replacement.

http://events.wayne.edu/law/view/181.../?mv=1&dv=&wv=

I so sick of this city council ! When Engler tried this a few years back Council sued because it didn't come from city residents. Now city residents put it on the ballot and they reject it again !

They claim to be looking out for residents best interests, then they pull this crap !

Changing how City Council is elected would result in changes to other sections of the City Charter. That makes it a revision, not just an amendment, as the language of the petition stated. There were a few other problems as well. It's kind of disappointing that a three term state representative put together such sloppy language.

That being said, Mike Cox will probably clear the langauge. Not clearing the language would be an admission that his office did a half assed job in its first review.

1. Detroiters for City Council by Districts has a legal team that has done a thorough review.