Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Trains crossing East Jefferson at 8:00 a.m.

For the second time in two weeks, there was a train crossing [[back and forth) East Jefferson between Conner and St. Jean at around 8:00 a.m. Traffic was backed-up in each direction.

I can't remember the last time this happened but it seems now to be a regular occurrence. Anyone have any info?

I don't want to complain, I'm just wondering why they started using that crossing. When I see it backed up, I go up to Mack where there is an overpass.

Maybe they could use it after rush hour was over...

Only twice in two weeks?

That's weird. There aren't even any tracks there.

There aren't even any tracks there.
    You need to drive by and listen for the rumble as you drive over the tracks.

Quote Originally Posted by 401don View Post
    Here?

https://goo.gl/maps/MpDhyQzf96MZtQ7E9

I have been driving that stretch for over 30 years and in the past it was extremely rare to see a train, let alone be held up by one. Two in two weeks is highly unusual.

I think the only thing those tracks go to now is a large logistics facility which was expanded last year.

That track will probably be used more frequently now that the Lear Corp is soon to be open on Connor and Harper which is located near the track twitch run through that area. I remember almost 40 years ago riding the Gratiot bus around 8 in the morning and being late for classes due to the train running across Gratiot

Quote Originally Posted by JBMcB View Post
    It was a weak attempt at humor, which clearly failed. You know on the internet you'll always get someone to say, "Oh yes there are!!!"

It was a weak attempt at humor, which clearly failed. You know on the internet you'll always get someone to say, "Oh yes there are!!!"
    On the internet, everybody is a robot