Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default East Side Detroit's Beauty Treatment.

Detroit's East Warren-Cadieux corridor will be given a million dollar face lift. It's the developers way gentrify Morningside, East English Village and Cornerstone Village to its glory again.

https://www.clickondetroit.com/news/...plan-unveiled/

While they at it, fix up Chandler Park, too.

I'm a resident of East English Village living less than a block off Warren. Our neighborhood is one of the most walkable in the city, but our 3 commercial strips [[Harper/Warren/Mack) are all wholly inadequate. The recent infrastructure improvements from DWSD, DTE, and Xfinity combined with a new focus on the Warren commercial corridor will only make things even better! But one of the best parts of this entire plan in my opinion is the focus on improvements to Balduck Park. It's an underutilized asset to the far-east side. I don't think it will be overlooked much longer.

https://detroitmi.gov/news/city-detr...ghborhood-fund

Really happy to see this in my old neighborhood. Balduck is such a wonderful park.
    I'd like to see the city pivot away from the small business retail focus though and more towards infrastructure for residents. A few quality storefronts and a beautified street scape is all you need, not blocks and blocks of 'mixed use.' Things like speed bumps and the alleys being cleanup have taken far too long to happen, but they are the residential quality of life things that will keep people here.
    How about a creative revamp of the median on Outerdrive and Chandler Park drive? It could be a good jogging circuit with a few built in exercise tools like the Dequindre cut.