Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Video Game Documentary Series Searching for 1980s Arcade Owners

Hello All!

My name is Alexandra and I am a producer on a documentary series about the golden age of video games.

I am trying to get in touch with someone who owned an arcade in Detroit in the early 1980s.

Also, does anyone happen to know if any of those arcades still exist? I think most of them––if not all––closed, but it's possible someone knows something I don't!

Please don't hesitate to contact me on here with any information or email me at alexandra.miller@turner.com

Thank you!
    Alexandra

Marvin's Marvelous Mechanical Museum comes immediately to mind.

An old DYes thread: Marvin's Marvelous Mechanical Museum

Thank you!

Marvin's is probably the only old arcade left. It's still run by the same family. The original owner just passed away last year.

The big arcade on the east side was called Galaxy in Roseville. It was across the street from Macomb Mall on Gratiot Ave. It closed about 15 years ago, it's now a store called Precision Jewelers. I don't know who the owners were, but it's a place to start looking.

You could check with Big Toys Arcade, which is an arcade game retailer and repair shop in Sterling Heights. They might have some leads on information:
    http://www.bigtoysarcade.com/
    Last edited by JBMcB; February-07-19 at 08:45 AM.

Oh thank you so much for this info. It's very helpful!!

Yes I've seen this! Unfortunately I think this was shot in the 90s although I havent been able to confirm. Thank you for posting!

This thread has been moved by moderators from the Connections forum as it fitting of the better visibility of the Discuss Detroit forum.

My guy's mom ran Time Zone on 9 and John R for several years until it closed. Here's a thread about the place, it talks about several different arcades in the area:

https://www.detroityes.com/mb/showth...ack-in-the-day