Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Brodhead Armory into a science center

Hello Detroit,
    I am an architecture student working on a project [[hypothetical) to transform the Brodhead Armory into a science center for the Great Lakes region. Any thoughts?

I approve, go ahead and get started tomorrow

Quote Originally Posted by JonWylie View Post
    I approve, go ahead and get started tomorrow
    Why put off 'til tomorrow what you can do today?

When you make a lazy post expect sarcasm. What kind of science center do you envision? How would it differ from the Detroit Science Center? Why is it needed?

An interesting idea, but there is already a Science Center in Detroit. How about an aquarium? It's right on the water, and an add-on building in back could open with a view onto the river.

Quote Originally Posted by JBMcB View Post
    An interesting idea, but there is already a Science Center in Detroit. How about an aquarium? It's right on the water, and an add-on building in back could open with a view onto the river.
    The Broadhead Armory is too small for an aquarium, relative to the size that they are being built today. I don't know if it could structurally be possible. Water is heavy.

There is a National Museum of the Great Lakes in Toledo, but that seems to be more geared toward history not science. The Broadhead Armory would seem like a great spot for a Great Lakes-centered science center, but obviously you need a vision, diligence, and lots of funding. A year or two ago, the Zoo announced that they were going to build some kind of Great Lakes aquatic center in Macomb County.

If the Armory was transformed into a science center, how do you think it would be received?

what ever happened to all the beautiful interior woodwork that was removed/stolen? did some budding preservationist get it before scrappers and plan to return it for reuse ala Michigan Central Station? somehow i doubt it