Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Michigan Under Fire For Overrunning Practice Time Allotment

http://www.freep.com/article/2009082...s--players-say

Ok, now that posting the article is over with, I have a few questions of my own. Why in the world is the Freep investigating a college football team? Even though I will be attending Michigan next year as a freshman, I would have serious doubts about investigations being conducted almost anywhere including Michigan State and Ohio State. And why are we so concerned about practice schedules when players are already given preferential treatment anyways? And why does the Freep do a full blown investigation with Michigan, but just quickly asks three State players what they thought about their program? Even with players stating that they overran, something just doesn't seem right about how this process played out, at least to me.

I would not be surprised if Rodriguez overran the practice time, but I would also bet that most other coaches [[ahem, Urban Meyer) overrun their allotted time during the week. Something is very fishy here...
    Last edited by SCS100; August-30-09 at 04:59 PM.

Whatever the reasons, the desire to win in athletics is great. That goes for recreational, high school, college, and professional sports.

The news is filled with stories about performance-enhancing drugs, cheating, gambling, violence, and rules violations of every sort: eligibility, academic, residency, recruitment, practice time, off-season contact, and many other requirements.

Remember the Michigan basketball scandal? I don't recall how many games or titles were vacated because of that. Even at the high school level, rules violations result in the forfeiture of games [[or sometimes entire seasons) all the time.

As the mom of a high school and college distance runner, and the wife of a sports official, I can tell you that MHSAA and NCAA rules are in place for a reason.