Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Salaries At General Motors

Does anyone have the ballpark salary ranges for direct hires at General Motors in Warren?

I have 2 1/2 years experience as a contractor and am looking at a 6B/6C position within the same organization.

Here is the definitions the company use to define the pay levels and grades.

Name:  image001.png
Views: 19884
Size:  96.0 KB

My niece's husband was hired in at $50,000., a few years ago with a counseling degree! Not sure what position it was but didn't stay with G.M., maybe 6 months. Ended up in a crummy school district, obviously, with a lower pay scale. Dumb move.

I worked as a contractor at GM.

These are ballpark numbers, as they may have adjusted the numberes slightly since I left, but the range for a level 6 goes from around $55K to $70K.

They're going to ask you for your desired salary during the phone screen. So shoot for the moon [[within reason). If they really want you, they won't low ball you.
    Last edited by 313WX; May-29-18 at 09:25 PM.

There are also grades for salaried senior management above the ones shown on the chart. GM people refer to it as "unclassified." Making the jump from Level 9 to "unclassified" is like becoming a Jedi.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat001 View Post
    There are also grades for salaried senior management above the ones shown on the chart. GM people refer to it as "unclassified." Making the jump from Level 9 to "unclassified" is like becoming a Jedi.
    This is true. You get to "Unclassified", you have arrived.

Even level 8s have it pretty good. You get a company car and the starting salary is well into the six figures.

Quote Originally Posted by Cincinnati_Kid View Post
    This is true. You get to "Unclassified", you have arrived.
    Do you know if GM still has an executive dining room at the Tech Center for the unclassifieds?