Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Detroit's Financial Picture Continues To Improve

Seemingly nothing but good news. Paying down debt, increased liquidity and money in the general funds, putting money aside for pension contributions, etc.

I liked this statement: "The city grew its general fund by $85 million in fiscal 2017, increasing its liquidity to $647 million."

https://www.detroitnews.com/story/ne...nces/33189653/

It'll be good when the retirees get their health care back.

Does the run up of the equities markets in the last year mean that pension
    funds are now much more healthy than in the past?

Quote Originally Posted by renf View Post
    Does the run up of the equities markets in the last year mean that pension funds are now much more healthy than in the past?
    I'm not an expert on this... but you might be better to look at it as "slightly less comatose".

Its really hard to make up for past pension abuse. The benefits were too generous for the city's income. The union did too good a job. And the pension funds distributed excess earnings during good times. If they'd kept those earnings, Ray1936 might still have health care.

And I don't think Detroit has this problem, but if your city has a pension fund -- make sure that there's no requirement to invest in 'green' funds, or other socially conscious investing. Its a seductive idea that these funds will deliver 'above-market' returns. Maybe they will. I hope they will. But please don't bet what's left of Ray1936's pension on it.
    Last edited by Wesley Mouch; March-24-18 at 11:30 AM. Reason: fix spelling of comatose

Quote Originally Posted by Wesley Mouch View Post
    And the pension funds distributed excess earnings during good times. If they'd kept those earnings, Ray1936 might still have health care.