Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default How do you pronounce Lafayette?

I'm combining the discussion in two different threads here for a wider audience. Help me out here—I've spent a grand total of 6 days of my life in Detroit so I have no personal experience in how to pronounce Lafayette. You good DY folks are all I have.

Eastside Al told me
    it's La-FAY-ette
    kanfar says he's never heard it pronounced that way.
    The State of Michigan says it's lä-fā-ET [[laugh-ay-YET), but I realize that things may roll a little different in Detroit than what Lansing may believe.

I agree with Al

I've never heard it pronounced any way other than with the stress on the last syllable [[your second example).

West sider here, if that matters.

La fe ette

In Lafayette, Indiana, which I called home for 5 years, I would go with your state of Michigan pronunciation example.

I'm not contending that I'm correct, but I pronounce it La-FI-et.

I've lived in the northern suburbs all my life and have worked downtown for the last 7 years.

I actually think you're reading too far into this and that Eastside Al and State of Michigan's pronunciation are close to the same.

I put the "f" on the "fay" not the "la" part. But it hardly changes the pronunciation.

If you want to base it on the pirate, it's La-FEET; the Marquis was La-fie-ETTE;
    mostly for the street in Detroit, I've heard La-fee-ETTE.

For bookish moments, referring to the historical person, la-FAY-et, as 48307, but don't overdo the stress on FAY.

For the street, laf-ee-et... so that its almost two syllables -- with la and fee almost one... think a New Yorkers saying coffee ka-fee-et.