Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Smokey Robinson Disses Detroit

Smokey was interviewed on the Breakfast Club today, someone in the studio had a Gratiot street sign, they talked about that for a minute, Angela Yee made a statement about owning homes in Detroit, and Smokey responded "good luck with that", and a few other negative comments. I was surprised because Smokey Robinson has always been a promoter of Detroit. Other than the few negative comments about his native city, it was a really interesting interview. The Detroit comments begin a little after the 10:00 minute mark.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WdZ3rQCiwk

He's being honest. I'm a Detroit resident and even I wouldn't pour my money into property in this city. Besides having to deal with city's ridiculous amount of red tape and redlining by the insurance companies, you also have to constantly worry about someone breaking into or destroying your property given the sheer amount of impoverished people and the bare bones police force.

Besides, most folks who grew up and lived the prime of their lives in 1940s - 1970s Detroit have absolutely no connection what so ever with the Detroit of today. It's a completely different town from what they remember. They all tend to be fairly negative [[or indifferent at best) about Detroit.
    Last edited by 313WX; October-22-16 at 10:59 AM.

Detroits resurgence is a little over 5 years running. Memories of bad detroit will linger for many more years but I don't think that's the issue. Most folks I know of that put detroits latest resurgence down have an underlying regret that they didn't act earlier. We're not there yet but there will be a time where prices go into a "frenzy" phase where those that doubted and held out for some correction, will finally capitulate and pay what ever it takes in fear of missing out.

Quote Originally Posted by SammyS View Post