Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default NEZ Tax Abatement Questions

All:

I'm considering a few different condos in the city, but am struggling to get some questions answered.

The properties all have a NEZ tax abatement in place, but I can't find documentation about when the abatement expires. Does anyone know where I can locate that information? Additionally, trying to figure out current tax on property with abatement [[not sure how much I trust things like MoveInMichigan), what tax is when abatement expires, and how hard it is to renew abatement. My realtor basically just forwarded me a link to read about the abatement, but no concrete info about specific properties.

I have read quite a bit about how property values go down when an abatement expires as higher taxes obviously makes the property less valuable.

Problem is I'm a rookie home buyer who has no idea what he's doing.

The NEZ abatement last 15 years from the date it was issued. That date will vary according to when the property was originally occupied. The NEZs value depends on the property type and whether it was new build or rehab. Your realtor will have to ask the current owner when the NEZ expires and what the NEZ taxes are. Tell them you want it in writing. That way you can sue them if they fudge the numbers. The NEZ is not renewable. It's a one time shot.

Future non-NEZ annual property taxes will basically be [[selling price/2000) * Millage rate. The Current millage rate will be 63 if homesteaded, 85 if non homestead. A 300,000 condo will cost you $9450 in property taxes each year if homesteaded.

Quote Originally Posted by ndavies View Post