Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default Tunnel by Belle Isle

Hi everyone. I'm new to DetroitYes! I'm working on a book about growing up in Detroit during the 1940s and 1950s. One memory I have is going down some steps with my Dad and sisters and brothers and walking through a tunnel by Belle Isle. I've found information about a driving tunnel under Jefferson Avenue to get onto the island but have been unable to find anything about a walkway. Does anyone [[as old as me) remember this underground pathway?

Source: http://belleisleconservancy.org/learn-more/fun-facts/

There used to be an underpass underneath Jefferson providing direct access to the bridge. It was removed in 1985.

Video:

I'm from that 40's, 50's, 60's era in Detroit and don't remember any "walking pathway" to get to Belle Isle. The Grand Boulevard tunnel under Jefferson Avenue is a vivid memory because there were signs in the underpass "DO NOT SOUND HORN", an inevitably, everyone honked their horn. My Dad told us that the bridge would collapse if the vibrations from the horn were too loud.

Quote Originally Posted by cla1945 View Post
    I'm from that 40's, 50's, 60's era in Detroit and don't remember any "walking pathway" to get to Belle Isle. The Grand Boulevard tunnel under Jefferson Avenue is a vivid memory because there were signs in the underpass "DO NOT SOUND HORN", an inevitably, everyone honked their horn. My Dad told us that the bridge would collapse if the vibrations from the horn were too loud.

Dad told us to hold up the car roof with our hands, just in case, as he honked the horn.

Its called a viaduct. There are a couple threads dedicated to the viaduct. An image from Wayne State University's Virtual Motor City circa 1960's.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Quote Originally Posted by p69rrh51 View Post
    Its called a viaduct.
    It's not a viaduct.