Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Default Do you drink your tap water?

My landlord's brother was over doing some yardwork. He asked for some water, I brought him a glass filled from the tap, and he turned it down. Said he only drinks bottled water, never from a tap in the city.

As far as I know, bottled water is pretty much tap water. I know a lot of the service lines running from the street to the meter are still lead, but I'm pretty sure the water is safe anyway. Anyway, I've been drinking it for the past four years.

Am I alone on this? Do y'all drink tap water? If so, do you filter it?

Quote Originally Posted by gvidas View Post
    My landlord's brother was over doing some yardwork. He asked for some water, I brought him a glass filled from the tap, and he turned it down. Said he only drinks bottled water, never from a tap in the city.

As far as I know, bottled water is pretty much tap water. I know a lot of the service lines running from the street to the meter are still lead, but I'm pretty sure the water is safe anyway. Anyway, I've been drinking it for the past four years.

Am I alone on this? Do y'all drink tap water? If so, do you filter it?
    I will drink tap water in most areas in and around Detroit as long as it doesn't smell funky. I prefer tap water. I did buy one of those pur faucet filters in the past and that makes things pretty close to bottled water. We have some of the better tasting water in the world coming out of our taps, why not use it?

I don't drink tap water either. You never know what people do to their faucets or what's coming out of their pipes...

Yes, I drink tap water. Guess the guy wasn't very thirsty.

Bottled water is a big pet peeve of mine, it's expensive, wasteful, and a $50 filter will get you great tasting water.