Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    DetroitBoy Guest

Default The Death of Bill Bonds

RIP
    A "colorful" character in Detroit's history.

I can see him now, after one too many, at some bar in the afterlife bellowing out for Coleman Young to meet him out in the alley. Such memorable color he possessed. A Detroit popular culture icon has passed.

----------------------------
    Added a couple of days later... I spotted this great Free Press archive picture out on Facebook today.

May God rest his soul.

I was never sure about his style. He didn't report the news at times. He WAS the news… and as a journalist, I'm not sure if that's the best way to deliver the news. I get that it was a simpler news day back then. One wasn't supposed to have opinions when delivering the news but if memory serves me correctly, WXYZ also gave their reporters a chance to have a personal commentary and he took to that pulpit often.

I'm sure Coleman Young busted out the boxing gloves awaiting Bill.

Bill's scene in Escape from the Planet of the Apes:

http://youtu.be/fFDh9-v7wiw

DetroitBoy Guest

My favorite Bill Bonds teaser for the 5pm news. He finally gets it right[[his way) the third time:

http://youtu.be/dWzyHkEPU0s

Bill was an excellent writer and a graduate of the University of Detroit with a degree in Journalism.

Interesting that the headlines in those days weren't too different than what they are today in Detroit!

I always thought he was super. Saddened at his loss, but hey, he made it well into his 80's.

He was a bit of an ass and a lush, but you know what? He wasn't afraid to report and speak out when all the other bobble-heads just nodded.