Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default RIP Robin Williams

Robin Williams attended Detroit Country Day School when I was a student there. Sometimes the funniest people are hiding the deepest pain....RIP Robin
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by FormerDetroiter; August-11-14 at 08:42 PM.

Point well made.
    Watch out for your loved ones.

Shades of Andy "Latka" Kaufman on Taxi.

Sad. I knew a few people who knew him from Country Day and from his early comedy club years in NYC. All of them described him as wildly entertaining and a wonderful giving person, but also as clearly deeply troubled. Like a lot of people, he had compulsive self-medicating problems that drove him to life-long substance use difficulties. Apparently he had recently undergone another rehab for alcohol problems. Despite all of his successes, and so much love from the public and fellow performers, I guess he could never quite escape the difficulties of being himself. Add in the natural disappointments, depressions ,and problems of aging, and it may have just been too much. An extremely sad loss to all who knew him or his work.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermod View Post
    Shades of Andy "Latka" Kaufman on Taxi.
    Andy Kaufman died of cancer.

He talked about his childhood home here:

http://www.freep.com/article/2014081...ams-movie-Jack

Anyone have a photo or info about this grand mansion?

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
    He talked about his childhood home here:

http://www.freep.com/article/2014081...ams-movie-Jack

Anyone have a photo or info about this grand mansion?