Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - BELANGER PARK »

Default 7 mile and Southfield area

I grew up around 7 mile and Gilchrist. I worked as a teen at Mikes Fruit Market at 7 and Southfield. I was wondering did anyone else live around there that could relate any stories?

The businesses along 7 Mile Rd. and Southfield FWY. is still thriving. It's loaded and sucessful black businesses and ethnic center businesses, too.

Yeah, that's a part of NW Detroit that isn't fancy, but still retained a good deal of business and semi-prosperity. Almost all black, solidly working to middle class, decent looking in parts, was Jewish up until about 1970.

Seven Mile Rd. is the new Paradise Valley!!

When I was in my late teens and used to hang a lot with the Rosedale Park/Cass Tech/Redford St. Mary's west side crowds, there was a nice little bar up there on 7 Mile just off Southfield where we used to spend a lot of time, circa 1978-80. We would practically take over the place on Sundays and turn it into our own private party. Can't remember the name of the place anymore though, and Streetview is providing no clues.

There was also another rival Catholic high school nearby whose students and graduates the St. Mary's kids were always ready to challenge. But I don't remember the name of that place either.
    Last edited by EastsideAl; March-21-14 at 10:51 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by EastsideAl View Post
    When I was in my late teens and used to hang a lot with the Rosedale Park/Cass Tech/Redford St. Mary's west side crowds, there was a nice little bar up there on 7 Mile just off Southfield where we used to spend a lot of time, circa 1978-80. We would practically take over the place on Sundays and turn it into our own private party. Can't remember the name of the place anymore though, and Streetview is providing no clues.