Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Default Wooden Water Main Pipes

I just heard a snippet of LBP's state of the county address earlier in the week. This part focused on Oakland Co not wanting to be part of Detroit's water system anymore & wanting to create their own. Anyway, he made a comment that Detroit's system still contained water main pipes made of wood. I thought to myself that's crazy & can't be accurate. However, not being an expert, I'm wondering if this is true. Do any DYes folks with that background or knowledge of the water system know anything about it?

I do recall stories of still-in-use 19th Century wooden mains being dug up when they upgraded the utilities in Brush Park a decade ago. So I wouldn't be surprised if there are others elsewhere.

Quote Originally Posted by jackie5275 View Post
    I just heard a snippet of LBP's state of the county address earlier in the week. This part focused on Oakland Co not wanting to be part of Detroit's water system anymore & wanting to create their own. Anyway, he made a comment that Detroit's system still contained water main pipes made of wood. I thought to myself that's crazy & can't be accurate. However, not being an expert, I'm wondering if this is true. Do any DYes folks with that background or knowledge of the water system know anything about it?

Quote Originally Posted by DetroitGuy76 View Post
    I do recall stories of still-in-use 19th Century wooden mains being dug up when they upgraded the utilities in Brush Park a decade ago. So I wouldn't be surprised if there are others elsewhere.
    The science goes, more or less, that wood doesn't rot when it's always full of water. Every 40 years, another water main job uncovers the "last" wooden pipe in Detroit.

While at MichCon in the early 70's a number of street crews from the former E. Jefferson Station dug these up, particularly in older but still slightly lived in areas close to Elmwood Cemetery.