Belanger Park River Rouge
ON THIS DATE IN DETROIT HISTORY - DOWNTOWN PONTIAC »

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Ye Olde Butcher Shoppe Closing [[?)

I stopped by Ye Olde Butcher Shoppe yesterday evening, and again this afternoon, and I noticed changes afoot: very little stock, especially among perishable items and whole coolers emptied. So I asked the owner [[behind the meat counter) what was up, to which he replied that the store was closing.

As a downtown resident, I'm disappointed, but not surprised. In my opinion, YOBS did everything right: good products, reasonable prices, delicious take-out foods, and the best Amish chicken I've ever tasted. But they just couldn't compete with the name cache of Whole Fools two blocks away.

For all you carrion shoppers, wine goes on sale Saturday.

Sad but not surprised a Whole Foods and eventually two Papa Joes downtown drove them out of business. Where they should go is New Center, we don't have any grocery stores except CVS and some shotty corner store on Seward. A YOBS type grocery store would do well and maybe[[extremely optimistically) start to bring Nonshitty retail to Woodward and the Blvd

Quote Originally Posted by YounginDetroit View Post
    Sad but not surprised a Whole Foods and eventually two Papa Joes downtown drove them out of business. Where they should go is New Center, we don't have any grocery stores except CVS and some shotty corner store on Seward. A YOBS type grocery store would do well and maybe[[extremely optimistically) start to bring Nonshitty retail to Woodward and the Blvd
    I agree completely. Its time to get rid of the ghetto stores on Woodward at New Center so it can begin to look like Midtown south of the boulevard. The only problem is that they wouldn't be able to benefit from Wayne State police protection anymore.

I think you mean north of the Blvd where things start to get dicey and sketchy really fast. South right near there is sorta hit and miss too.